Wrong target !

Discussion in 'UKAHFT Official Forum' started by skires, May 25, 2009.

  1. skires

    skires Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,220
    It was a joke post Pete.

    B:rolleyes:Z
     
  2. Sparky

    Sparky Ich dien Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,646
    Location:
    Pontypool South Wales
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Yeah a few of us thought the thread was funny;)

    Sorry you meant your reply, and by the way i was taking the piss to.

    Pete
     
  3. Mog

    Mog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Lower Normandy
    Club:
    Truttemer Tir Club
    I know this is unlikely to happen, but here is the scenario....
    Shooter A at peg 1 shoots target 2 by mistake and 'kills' it, shooter B at peg 2 fires a fraction of a second after, as his target falls flat, and misses completely. Quite rightly shooter A gets a donut, but what about shooter B?
     
  4. Sparky

    Sparky Ich dien Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,646
    Location:
    Pontypool South Wales
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Thats a good question.

    IMO if all parties agreed this is what happened then the chief marshal should be called and then explained the situation and as you said shooter A would get the 0 and shooter B should on this occasion be allowed to take his shot again as it was through no fault of his own.

    But this shouldn't be confussed with if the target was already down and not as you described then its a 0 as always best to pull the string and make sure targets are reset.

    Pete
     
  5. loopyloo

    loopyloo Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Club:
    Bisley
    What about crossed strings?

    Player A is shooting at target 1
    but as player C is shooting and got target 2 is now pulling target up and the string comes in front of target 1 player A shoots hits the string
    can he claim another shot as its not his fault that some one pulled a string in his view?

    poor player A not having a good day at this shoot :D
     
  6. skires

    skires Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,220
    I'd rule that as tough titty Player A.

    It's everyone's responsibility to make sure that the line of fire is clear when you take your shot re other strings coming into view when being reset at another target.

    Otherwise it would be another excuse for people to take another shot .... " Ooooh did you see that ? I hit the string from that other target ... I'll have another go " .

    If a string from another target has got caught on a branch or something and is now stuck across the kill zone of your target ... then call the marshall BEFORE you take your shot and get it cleared.

    Just my opinion on that one.

    Boz
     
  7. chrisc

    chrisc Lucky git

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Club:
    Emley Moor
    Actually, i'm surprised that the guy marking your card didn't tell you that you were aiming for the wrong target, damn unsporting old chap.
     
  8. Charlts

    Charlts Getting dusty

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,014
    Location:
    Leicester
    Could the same not be said if player A shoots player B's target instead?;) Surely it falls to the individual to shoot the right target.;):D

    Ryan
     
  9. Scooby

    Scooby Pete Dutton

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,620
    Location:
    Rotherham
    The same happens as has happened in FT & HFT for years Lyndeen......bugger all.....it's just tough luck
     
  10. skires

    skires Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,220
    Charlts I've given up on the WT theme now :D

    ... but for arguaments sake ...

    If someone is locked onto a target and a string suddenly jumps up in view and is sitting across their line of fire it is clearly their problem if they choose to pull the trigger and risk hitting the string ... or just wait a couple of seconds for the string to drop thus eliminating the chance they may hit it.

    That is different from someone who genuinely believes they are on the right target.

    One's a silly mistake ... the other's just silly :D

    Boz
     
  11. Mog

    Mog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Lower Normandy
    Club:
    Truttemer Tir Club

    What happened to player B, did he go home? :D:rolleyes:
     
  12. skires

    skires Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,220
    In fairness to him Chris ...

    The lanes are very close together and it's a relaxed shoot so a chat to the guys on the next lane is not uncommon. Also the two targets were at the same distance away ( about 30 yards ) ... one was near the bottom of the bank in the shadows and one was about 6 feet off the ground and maybe a yard or so to the left of the other one.

    So the targets were so close together that from a standing position a couple of yards behind the shooter it was probably very difficult to see what the prone shooter was aiming at.

    Boz
     
  13. skires

    skires Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,220

    Player B was disqualified after twatting Player A because he shot his target in your example.

    Boz
     
  14. 5teve L

    5teve L STOP ! HAMMER TIME !

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex.
    Club:
    The Oaks & Horsham hawks
    I've done it (right after a doughnut as well :rolleyes:) & it's damn annoying but it your own fault at the end of the day. Thats what I like about the Uk's, they are marked at the target as well.
     
  15. RobF

    RobF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12,709
    Location:
    New Forest, Hampshire
    Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers
    I've done it a few times... even in GP's with marked targets... and with FT you have two targets in a lane to go at, and they have to be in order (because course builders can be clever by shifting pressure onto the clock depending on how they place the first target)

    never forget to pull those strings...;)
     
  16. Gold

    Gold New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Tamworth
    I haven't shot the wrong target yet but am sure i will one day, i understand and respect the rules and reasoning behind them, when i do shoot the wrong one i know i will feel a proper plum and rightly so, as for no crossing strings Jamie, you were at Kelmarsh for the worlds, that was brilliant, especially the lake course, the strings weren't just crossed, they were woven :eek:, its a none starter, things work well as they are, maybe there should be some plum badges, or a dolls head :D
    Atb
    Cliff
     
  17. skires

    skires Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,220
    You guys .... :D:D:D

    Boz
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2009

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice