1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Springer Love

Discussion in 'Piston & Spring' started by Cooper_dan, Feb 13, 2018.

1. Cooper_dan

Cooper_dan Member

Ok so the last post went off on a PCP tangent so I'll try again.
    This time, what do you love most about your springer?

Couple of rules:
    1. No mention of PCP's (we get it, they are easier)
    2. No mention of the 'springer lottery' (bored of it now)

I'll go first. I've got a mid engine car with the gearbox right behind me and a short shift linkage. When you change gear you get a lovely mechanical 'clunk' as it engages. It's addictive. My springers remind me of this. A raw mechanical system that you can really feel part of. Love it :D

Gary Martin and MickyFinn like this.
  2. mitigator

mitigator Dan Smith

Club:
    Emley Moor FTC
    Dan,

I’m a springer novice but I’ll say this :

It nice to hit a target and think “yay!” rather than thinking “thank god I didn’t miss that...”

Dan

springboy, Peter M and MickyFinn like this.
  3. Dan Staps

Dan Staps New Member

Club:
    Loughborough Airgun Club
    Well, my name's Dan as well so I'll chime in!

Definitely the sense of achievement and (dependent upon whether you're so inclined) knowing exactly how it works having taken it to bits.

Saying that, my score on Sunday didn't leave me with a warm glow inside I can tell you...

MickyFinn likes this.
  4. MickyFinn

MickyFinn IHFT

Club:
    The Anston Massive & Kingsley HFT
    Elation and frustration in equal measures! :p;):rolleyes:o_O:cool:

Ash Bailey, imorik and nick2 like this.
  5. MickyFinn

MickyFinn IHFT

Club:
    There's also the "joys" of doing this.

6. Nick G

Nick G Member

Club:
    Greyhound/ Purley Chase
    I enjoy the satisfaction , when it all comes together and you get a good score , springers punish you harshly when you get just one part of your technique wrong. Oh and i do like modifying them .

7. imorik