Setting scope for FT.?

Discussion in 'General Airgun Chat' started by cb2591, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. cb2591

    cb2591 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    westbury
    Been trying to reset my T35 to suit my TX200 with CS1000 stock. The weather hasnt helped,with the cold and wind. I have to shoot in a field nearby and from the FT sitting position or kneeling and resting against a post i have driven into the ground. Is there a right way and hence a wrong way, to attempt to mark the distance and record the number of clicks per yard? How long does it take and how many pellets do you fire per setting. I realise its staightforward but it is suprisingly difficult to be exact. I have adjustable elevation type mounts and wish i had purchased fully adjustable mounts as i have run out of windage. How can i set the scope to be able to adjust the windage or have i a problem?:)
     
  2. RobF

    RobF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11,678
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers
    firstly, I mark the wheel... ie make sure the ranges correspond to the marks made repeatedly... and i'll leave it for a bit and check again before doing any clicks.

    Then for clicks I tend to just shoot until i have a tight group, or a group that on average is on the level for the range... i completely forget about windage... don't care if it takes 3mm or 3", as long as the shots make a nice line, that's good enough.

    then i take it around a course immediately... helps with the confidence, and if there's any issues, you can check them out.

    finally, i might plot a graph to see if the clicks make a nice shape... i generally check that the marks on the wheel decrease as they go further out in range.

    i tend to mark the wheel when looking at paper targets, or very fine detail like news print...
     
  3. cb2591

    cb2591 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    westbury
    Thanks Rob. But what about the windage? As i said i have no adjustment left.
     
  4. stotty

    stotty member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    shropshire
    Hi
    I had a similar problem once, it turned out to be the scope mounts, it wasn`t centralised.
    Worth a look mate
     
  5. luddite

    luddite I Love HFT

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    Upper Buggersdale, Leeds
    Try removing and reversing one of the mounts, if this does not work there are mounts with windage adjustment available.
     
  6. Magic Bus

    Magic Bus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Cromer
    Club:
    Cromer Air Rifle Club
    Try reversing the mounts. What make are they? If reversing them gives you windage adjustment back I would get another set. If reversing makes no difference maybe you have a problem with the rifle.
     
  7. cb2591

    cb2591 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    westbury
    Thanks folks. Will have another look.
     
  8. NJR 100

    NJR 100 Because I`m AWESIME !!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,577
    Location:
    Skewen
    Club:
    Avon Hawks, Tondu, Oaktree
    I have had to reverse one set of "cheap" mounts in the past.
     
  9. cb2591

    cb2591 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    westbury
    These are Sportsmatch, elevation adjustable. Not cheap lol.
     
  10. Magic Bus

    Magic Bus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Cromer
    Club:
    Cromer Air Rifle Club
    How was windage when the scope was on your Prosport?
     
  11. cb2591

    cb2591 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    westbury
    My memory is bad,must be an age thing. Was ok on Prosport,good point. Perhaps i havent fitted them perfectly on the TX ? I suppose as they are elevation adjustable this could have an effect on windage. Think i need to start again and centre etc. Could buy fully adjustable if all else fails lol.
     
  12. pirellip

    pirellip Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    This same thing happened to me, with these exact same scope rings. It was on my HW97k... I tried flipping them around, and the error was on the other side.

    I sent them back to Sportsmatch, and they returned them saying they were fine... I tried the same rings on my TX200SR, and they are spot on centered for windage..

    My only guess is that these rings do not sit vertically on your TX200.. I bet if you look closely you'll see they are leaning to the bad side...
     
  13. chrispro97

    chrispro97 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    atherstone
    Club:
    purley chase ftc
    i had the same with a tx and the same scope,take the rear 1 off and turn it round opposite to the front 1 the locking allens key should be 1 on the left and rear on the right etc this should line up,
     
  14. cb2591

    cb2591 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    westbury
    Had a fiddle today and i now have windage adjustment. Not much, but enough so that the erector tube is not stressed. Dont how i managed it? May still reverse the rear mount,i will see how it shoots for a while. Thanks for your advice.:)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice