Scope and packing advice

Discussion in 'Hunter (HFT) & Field Target (FT)' started by m1chaelw, May 18, 2011.

1. m1chaelw

m1chaelw New Member

Back FT shooting but having abit of trouble on scope mounting

My set up is a AR5s with raiser rail , Burris tactical weaver mounts X High , Nightforce NXS

I have managed to mount the scope but it requires 3 large peices of packing under the front mount which i have never done before " normally the rear needed packing" . This could be the raiser rail?

Also Due to the NF blind spot in the lower ranges , would it be a good idea ditching the raiser rail and mounting the scope as low as possible ? . The NF top end ranges are spot on 55 ect? So it would be flatter in the 10 - 25 yd range where i am most likely to make a mistake ?

Cheers for any advice

Michael

2. sportsmatch

sportsmatch Member

Club:
    Quarry Rifles
    Hi Mike has the riser rail a built in slope you could try reversing the rail

Gary

3. m1chaelw

m1chaelw New Member

Hi , im not 100 % sure but i think its sloped , it looks like its made to only fit on one way as it has a overhang above the barrel, im just abit worried about my blind spot and the reducers in the GPs

Last edited: May 18, 2011
  4. RobF

RobF Administrator Staff Member

Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers
    as for packing, I prefer adjustable mounts... less stress on the tube, and you can keep optical centre, but i am not sure you can get em in weaver (perhaps b-square, but they may be very rare)

5. m1chaelw

m1chaelw New Member

What sort of adjustable mounts do you use Rob? I can take the raiser rail off so that im back on to dovetail and lower so it might help me in the closer minis

6. AndyIoW

AndyIoW Member

I use the ATP61 (think thats the number) on my AR5 and AR5s rifles. Just a case of leave them optically zeroed and then adjust them to get the pellets hitting as cloase to my preferred 45yd zero.