question

Discussion in 'General Airgun Chat' started by johnharper, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. johnharper

    johnharper Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Newton Aycliffe County Durham dl5
    Club:
    YORK FTC
    hy all,
    i have a 7ltr 300 bar bottle
    now if i take the gauge off and replace it for another will i lose the air in the tank???
    reason being the gauge only goes upto 270bar
    cheers
    john
     
  2. paul4be

    paul4be Why do I bother????????

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,169
    Location:
    Richmond, North Yorkshire
    Club:
    Darlington RA
    Shouldn't do mate. The gauge doesn't show bottle pressure, only line and gun cylinder pressure once the valve is open. Just keep the valve closed and all should be fine (maybe :D:D)
     
  3. nemesis

    nemesis 55yrd standing expert, or was it 8 or 9?

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,132
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Hi,
    No you won't loose the air,i replaced mine for a better one,just remember that the threads on the gauge aren't all the same pitch,i used thread lock on mine to help it stay aligned in the upright position,don't be tempted to over tighten it though.
     
  4. JerryD

    JerryD Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Location:
    Rutland (it's titchy!)
    Club:
    Hereward FT&ARC
    The gauge is normally downstream of the main valve on the bottle. Unless you have an unusual bottle that continuously shows the bottle pressure rather than the pressure you are filling the gun to you will be OK - providing the main valve is shut!:eek:

    Make sure you get a gauge with matching threads: 1/8BSP and 1/8 NPT are very nearly the same but you don't want to muck about with compressed air at 300bar. Get it wrong and you could end up with the threads of the pressure gauge stripping - and 300bar trying to turn the gauge into a mega-pellet.....



    .
     
  5. johnharper

    johnharper Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Newton Aycliffe County Durham dl5
    Club:
    YORK FTC
    ???

    cheers paul
    will get a new gauge then i can have bottle filled to 300bar instead of 270bar
    john.
     
  6. Willbe

    Willbe I Like BIG Hats!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Cheadle, Staffs
    Club:
    Far Coley FTC
    Personally I would recommend using a gauge of 1.5X SWP, in this case a 500Bar instrument. Also as advised on earlier posts make sure you get the thread right, 300Bar is 4,350lbs/sq" or 1.94Tonnes/sq"!
     
  7. johnharper

    johnharper Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Newton Aycliffe County Durham dl5
    Club:
    YORK FTC
    ???

    thanks to all for the Replies much
    Appreciated
    so thanks to all
    john
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice