1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Post Wet Weather Shooting Maintenance

Discussion in 'Walther' started by Shaqa, Dec 28, 2009.

  1. Shaqa

    Shaqa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Glen Oroua, New Zealand
    I havent used me new Walther in the rain as yet, but I know there will be a time soon where I will. Im wondering though, what maintenance is needed on this rifle (walther dom alutec LG300) should it get really wet from rain? Do I have to remove the action from the stock and wipe it down with a oiled cloth? Or can an external wipedown with a oiled cloth be suffcient?
    Your thoughts?
     
  2. Shaqa

    Shaqa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Glen Oroua, New Zealand
    Any advice on maintenance after the rifle had got wet? Anybody?
     
  3. Scooby

    Scooby Pete Dutton

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,619
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Unfortunately the answer to your question depends how wet the rifle gets ?

    It can be as simple as a quick wipe down with it removed from the stock to a full strip down, including the reg if it's been using in torrential rain.
     
  4. Shaqa

    Shaqa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Glen Oroua, New Zealand
    Im sort of hoping i can prevent it getting absolutely soaked in torrential rain. So id be thinking it would be wet from maybe a light shower or something similar.
     
  5. berty177

    berty177 Judge Diva

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    South Wales
    Club:
    Nelson FTC
    Maintenance

    To be honest with you Shaqa, Scooby has far more knowledge than I will ever have on these rifles.

    We do get alot of rain in Britain and regularly shoot in very bad wet conditions.

    Ive had my FT Walther for 2 full years and when I have been out in really bad wet weather, I take the action out of the stock, I will initially wipe the rifle down to take any excess water off the action. I then leave it dry out for a couple of hours then take the tube off and give the rifle a good wipe down. I ensure that the rag I use to wipe the rifle hasnt got alot of oil on it. Just ensure you haave a small amount as it is not needed to be excessive.

    I also make sure that the inner side of the stock is dried out before I put the action back into the stock. I normally let the action and stock dry out till the next day.

    I hope this helps you..............

    Berty
     
  6. Shaqa

    Shaqa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Glen Oroua, New Zealand
    Cheers Berty,
    do you find after ypouve put the stock and action back together that you have to set up your POI again?
     
  7. berty177

    berty177 Judge Diva

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    South Wales
    Club:
    Nelson FTC
    Poi

    Personally Ive never had any problems with it. I have had a stock made for mine and keep it quite loose in the stock for the action to expand in heat etc.

    What I would say is to just check it after you have cleaned it??

    Berty
     
  8. RobF

    RobF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11,409
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers
    Pretty much what I do... last time around, my walther in the paul wilson stock, which only uses one mounting bolt didn't shift a jot when it was taken out and put back together again.

    Haven't dropped the action on the alutec for a while as it hasn't got wet, so can't comment on that.
     
  9. mikewills8904

    mikewills8904 walthers last the course

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Location:
    porttalbot
    Club:
    oaktree ftc and tondu ftc
    alutec

    i have taken mine out of alutec stock loads of times and .i have had the tube and reg off and have never seen any change

    i use a torque wrench to do everything up so always goes back the same
     
  10. RobF

    RobF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11,409
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers
    so do i actually... i also only use the one bolt...

    what setting do you use mike?
     
  11. Shaqa

    Shaqa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Glen Oroua, New Zealand
    After I shimmed my action and stock, i reassembled them using 3-4Nm. I found that that had changed the POI.
     
  12. villiers

    villiers Self appointed antipimp

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Uxbridge UB8
    Club:
    Bisley
    Float the Barrel and a lot of it will go,use the guys in the carbon shop on base.:)
    regards Don
     
  13. RobF

    RobF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11,409
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers
    Oh yes, if you haven't floated, then you probably will see a POI shift when you re-assemble.

    But early days, don't start ripping into your rig unless you're comfortable. :)
     

Share This Page