Not helping our cause

Discussion in 'General Airgun Chat' started by MikeSeago, Dec 2, 2018.

1. MikeSeago

MikeSeago Active Member

It is news reports like this about the senseless and cruel killing of these swans that give us a bad name. To be honest if the idiots that did this didn’t have access to what looks like a BB gun then they may have beaten them to death with a baseball bat to get there kicks.
    Words do not describe the ability of some ‘so called’ humans to inflict pain on other animals and sometimes other humans.
    A sad state of affairs.
    End of rant

Attached Files:

2. Paul_T

Paul_T Member

TBH I'm no expert but it looks more like shot gun shot to me.
    But either way if it is reported as an 'airgun' attack that's what the general public will take it as. And you are right it doesn't help our sport.

gdavison, top gun phil and Darron like this.
  3. Niloc

Niloc Member

Club:
    BFTO Bisley
    I too saw the x-ray pictures earlier on the BBC website.

My immediate reaction, after fuming about the scum who did it, was that there were just too many hits for a single shot BB or airgun, much more like a long(ish) range shotgun pattern.

Annoying that the report is headlined "pellets" but later on says "pellets or shot"

gdavison, top gun phil and Darron like this.
  4. Conor

Conor Never been banned from sales Staff Member

Club:
    Back Hill Ballistics; DFTC; Nelson FTC
    It’s clearly a shotgun so whoever the mindless plonker was deserves to have their certificate revoked, a hefty fine and criminal conviction for shooting a protected wild bird.

Can’t see how some idiot woukd manage to do that with so many BB’s, or if a BB gun would have sufficient energy.

5. terryn

terryn Member

Club:
    Kent Woodsmen
    Having once seen kids throwing small stones at swans in a river,if a stone went anywhere near a swan it flew off
    and landed further away. I cannot see that a swan would just sit there while some idiot slowly peppered it with