Newbie question: should I hear air hissing when unscrewing air cylinder?

Discussion in 'Steyr' started by athelas, Feb 9, 2019.

1. athelas

athelas New Member

Club:
    Lea Valley (Probational at this time)
    Hi All -
    It's my first time attempting adjustment of my second hand LG110 HFT Hunting (2014)!

Gulp.

I have watched the Steyr Sport videos - have got the tools - looking to eliminate muzzle flip by adjusting the stabiliser travel.

Safety says the first thing to do is remove the air cylinder. The cylinder manometer shows its between 50 - 100 bar, but as I slowly start to unscrew it, I soon hear the sound of escaping air. Is that to be expected? Is this just air emptying from the regulator and not from the cylinder - and I should just remain unconcerned and continue to carefully unscrew until it stops hissing?

The manual and the videos don't indicate that this is to be expected - so wanted to first check I wasn't about to blow up!

After it started to hiss, I immediately stopped and screwed it back in. As it was almost fully in, I heard another, quite different sound of air movement in the mechanism. I was wondering if this might be the regulator being replenished with air it had lost?

Thanks

2. sstyle

sstyle Member

3. athelas

athelas New Member

Club:
    OK - thanks for your quick reply! I will continue to carefully unscrew it.

4. RobF

RobF Administrator Staff Member

Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers