Muzzle Velocity Doppler Radars

Discussion in 'General Airgun Chat' started by Ballisticboy, Sep 1, 2019.

1. Ballisticboy

Ballisticboy Active Member

With the increase in interest in Doppler radar chronographs I thought it may be useful to some for me to pass on some of the things I have learnt using these devices. Now I am not a radar expert or anything like an expert, I am just a bloke who has had to use them in dozens of different applications to track everything from 155mm shells down to 4.6mm bullets and explosive formed slugs from warheads. During this time I was lucky enough to work with someone who is almost certainly the most experienced operator of Doppler radars of all kinds for tracking gun launched projectiles in the UK and whose expertise is acknowledged in many other countries. I learnt a lot from him in a close working relationship based on mutual respect and a lot of traded insults on each other’s expertise.

All Doppler radars work by measuring the frequency change in the signal being reflected from the moving projectile. This gives an accurate measurement of the projectiles velocity relative to the radar. The radar does not know where the gun is, it does not care. The radar does not know where the projectile is either, it has no way of measuring the distance from itself to the projectile, all it knows is the time since it started measuring, the time the projectile entered its beam and the velocity of the projectile relative to the radar at any time since entering the beam. Any other data has to be derived from what has been measured. It does not measure the velocity of the projectile at the gun muzzle.