Mil-Dot or Dial

Discussion in 'Hunter (HFT) & Field Target (FT)' started by thesmokindog, Aug 4, 2009.

?

Mil-Dot or Dial your scope

1. Mil-Dot

54 vote(s)
    42.9%
  2. Dial

72 vote(s)
    57.1%
  1. thesmokindog

thesmokindog New Member

Club:
    Castle FTARC
    Hi

I'm still learning the Field Target game, although I am getting better scores (except in the wind) but I just wondered, I have been dialing in my scope and wouldn't mind giving the Mil-Dots a try. How many of you shoot Mil-Dot or dial your scopes..

Stay safe all
    Andy

2. RobF

RobF Administrator Staff Member

Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers
    I find that aiming off for wind, and aiming up and down at the same time is too much for me, so i dial. That way I also know if something isn't going exactly where I dialed.. i don't find mildots accurate enough for that... but others might be better at using mildots... some of the SFT & HFT mob have it down to a T.

3. TOOL

TOOL Independent FT Pumper

Humber Bridge , Barrow-on-Humber in Bomber County
    Club:
    EFTA England
    Dial every time & 2 lines for wind with the occasional dot !

4. D Martin

D Martin Non member

I only shoot HFT/SFT mate so use milldots for hold over/under all the time. Like you I'm getting better with practise and have had my best season yet so far but plenty of practise is what it takes and I still need some more;) I wouldn,tlike to say that one is more accurate than the other really it's the person behind the trigger that makes the difference. I've seen some of the top HFT boys and AA grade FT shooters coming in with similar scores on a course where both techniques have been used.

Keep practising:):)

Dave

5. Knockedover

Knockedover CSFTA Champ