Lots of newbie questions

Discussion in 'General Airgun Chat' started by Reptile Smile, Nov 19, 2014.

1. Reptile Smile

Reptile Smile New Member

Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie to the HFT scene, and know nothing about anything but am really keen to learn.*

I've done a fair bit of research, though have been constrained by budget, and have bought an AA s410. I appreciate a magazine feed isn't perfect for HFT, but it was so cheap at £320 that I couldn't really resist it, and I figure I can always put a single shot adaptor in it (have seen the one from Rowan Engineering - are there any others?).

It's in a bit of a state cosmetically, though I believe shoots fine (or so I'm told - I haven't had a chance to shoot it as I live in the middle of Bristol. Am hoping to go down to Barbury this weekend to get more advice and do some plinking). *I'd like to get it re-blued - can anyone advise where I might be able to get that done at a reasonable price?

I've almost inevitably, I guess, ended up with a few questions. *Hope it's ok to ask them here...

1) it came with a scope that as far as I can tell is a Hawke Sport 3-9/40 AO Mil Dot. Now, leaving aside that mil dot makes me as baffled as Adam and Eve on Mothers' Day, I gather this is a budget scope? What would make more sense to get, as and when budget allows?

2) given it's zoom-able, but I couldn't alter it mid-comp, what's best to leave the magnification factor on?

3) how precious do I need to be about how solid the scope is on top of the rifle? I'm not talking about banging it around, but more should I expect putting the gun in a slip cover to knock it out of true/zero?

4) should I have a spirit level on my scope rail to avoid cant?

5) should I stick to one brand of pellet or for some one as inevitably hopeless as I will be when starting out, does it really not matter?