High mounts?

Discussion in 'Hunter (HFT) & Field Target (FT)' started by shinything, Mar 2, 2012.

1. shinything

shinything New Member

Club:
    carisbrooke
    Hi I'm new to Ft and was wondering if there is some kind of an advantage to having high mounts, I've seen a lot of people with them but every think I have read befor about rifle set ups says to keep the scope as close to the barrel as you can.

I have ordered some high mounts any way now to see what all the fuss is about I don t want to miss out.

2. skires

skires Well-Known Member

One of the FT guys will be along to give you a proper answer. I think when you are shooting using a 56mm front objective lens you need to use high mounts to get clearance of the front of the scope.

You then need a higher cheekpiece to line up the eye with the higher mounts/scope.

Generally using higher mounts means that the holdover ( or dialling ) is less at longer distances than your zero. So that can mean the ranging at longer ranges is less critical.

The payback is that you then normally get more dialling to do at the close targets.

Anyway ... like I said a proper shooter will explain better but that's a nutshell's worth.

3. shinything

shinything New Member

Club:
    carisbrooke
    Hey thanks for that makes perfect sence to me now.

4. NJR 100

NJR 100 Because I`m AWESIME !!

Club:
    Avon Hawks, Tondu, Oaktree
    chairgun will give you a rough indication if you enter details about scope height, pellets fps etc correctly.

it seems to get the flat trajectory at the more common Ft ranges of 40 + yards, you will need a scope quite high above the barrel.

take a look at BFTA Chamopion mniel daniels set up. his Leip Comp is high above the Walthers barrel.
    the disadvanatge is on the fewer shots below 40 you may go more than a full turn out on dialing?

Experiment with your set up and make note of results, see what suits you best?
    what are your weak points etc?

5. shinything

shinything New Member

Club: