HFT Scope Recommendations

Discussion in 'Hunter (HFT) & Field Target (FT)' started by hamza, Jul 30, 2019.

1. hamza

hamza Member

Club:
    West London Rangers
    Hi,

I'm currently using an Optisan EVX 3-12x44i for my HFT gun but don't really get on with it. In particular I find the depth of field is a bit shallow and I get whiteout sometimes. I have Hawke scopes (Airmax 30 and Sidewinder) on some of my other guns which I prefer the reticle and clarity of.

So if I were to start looking for a new scope for my HFT rifle which ones would be a good starting point? I'd like a better depth of field (I think? but I'm an HFT novice) and clarity. I'm thinking something with a fixed mag and I don't really need the SF or maybe even AO?

2. pbrown

pbrown Bunghole

What's your budget?

My lad uses a Sidewinder 30 10x42 and won't use anything else however I can't get on with it, so you'll need to find a scope that works for you. Have you tried your Sidewinder?

3. hamza

hamza Member

Club:
    West London Rangers
    No, my Sidewinder is a 4-16x50FFP and pretty long and heavy so not really suitable for HFT. I guess I could try it but I'm being lazy.

I was thinking about the 10x42 but seems you can't buy these new any more so would be a case of finding a good one second hand and makes it harder to try out.

In regards to budget, I guess maybe around the £300ish mark? Second hand or new, either is fine I guess.

pbrown likes this.
  4. JPS Norton

JPS Norton Member

You can pick up a second hand Sightron s3 10x42 for around your budget.

gordon&jo likes this.
  5. subaru swift

subaru swift I don't have a solution, I just love the problem.

Club:
    Kingsley HFT & Furnace mill.
    The good old scope question,,, there's a lot of HFT suitable scopes out there, hence it might be worth a go to nip a club \ range & see if you can look through some other HFT scopes what people use.
    I use delta optical titanium 4.5-14x44 ao ffp hft.

bow and Peter Trimmer like this.