HFT Scope Advise please :)

Discussion in 'Hunter (HFT) & Field Target (FT)' started by andythilo, Sep 16, 2012.

1. andythilo

andythilo New Member

Hi

Trying to decide what to get, looking at the following :

New Falcon Menace 4-14x44 - £240

New Falcon Menace 10x42? Can't find anywhere that sells?

Secondhand EB 10x42 - £200

New Bushnell Elite E3200 10x42 - £210

Not what others are good around the £200 range? I'm very new to HFT but want a good scope.

Thanks

Andy

2. pwiles1968

pwiles1968 Member

Club:
    Kibworth
    Hawke TAC 30 around 175 used, or an MTC Viper 220 new both decent scopes in your budget.

3. rickysdaystate

rickysdaystate Make Every Shot Count

Club:
    Greyhound
    I have owned/ still own the following scopes
    Hawke tac 30 4.5-14x42
    Mtc viper 3-12x44
    Mtc viper 10x44
    Lightstream 4.5-14x44
    Sightron 10 x42
    Eb 10x42
    Bushnell 6500 2.5-16x42

Out of all the above i would favour the viper for price and quality. The ret is superb for hft

4. andythilo

andythilo New Member

Thanks guys, so that's 2 votes for the Viper, I assume the 10x44 version?

5. Coney

Coney New Member

Another vote for the viper, great scope for hft and customer service second to none :)

Try and get to a club before you finally decide though and look through as many scopes as you can as everyones eyes are different and a scope which suits one person does not always suit another.

Alan.

6. pwiles1968

pwiles1968 Member

Club:
    Kibworth
    The magnification is personal Preferance really around 10x seems to be fairly popular for HFT you will want around 40 aperture, 42 /44 is ok, much more than this you will loose depth of field so the 8 & 45 yarders will be very blurred.

7. andythilo

andythilo New Member

Hi