hello all

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Danladi, Jul 13, 2009.

1. Danladi

Danladi New Member

My name's Dan and I'm a complete newbie to the sport, but looking to get into HFT as soon as i can!

I've managed to get a good deal on a second hand Daystate Harrier and fitted it with a MTC Viper 10x44 scope. OK it's not the best there is but it should be more than enough to get me going :)

I've spent quite a bit of time getting the scope zeroed @ 40 yards and taking note of the various aiming points between 8 and 45 yards and I'm pretty confident that any misses are due to me now hehe.

I'm currently living in Stoke-on-Trent and what I'm looking for is a good fairly local club where I can get to know the ropes in a relaxed environment. Bisley is pretty close but whether that's a good place for a first-timer i'm not sure. What do you guys think? Or are there any other suggestions?

Cheers :)

2. Charlts

Charlts Getting dusty

Hi Dan, there's a few clubs a lot closer than Bisley to Stoke that do HFT.

Within an hour and a bit you've got.

Tawd Vale and Rivington Riflemen to the North.

Fort and Quarry to the West.

The Greyhound, Millride, Rough Wedge, Harriers, Quarford and a few others to the South.

To the East, Anston, Redfearns, Emley Moore, Leicester Airgun Club and Lincs HFT.

There's a National round at Bisley this weekend and then a NW Gauntlet shoot at Rivington the Sunday after, if you fancy dipping your toe in? I'll happily take you round the course at Rivi and show you the ropes.:)

Ryan

3. Kingplinker

Kingplinker " Horsham HFT champion 2010 "... apparently...

Hi Dan

Well a harrier and viper is a capable tool for the job , not sure about the 40 yards zero but if it works for you then thats fine .

I used to go to Bisley and as much as I love the place don't think it's the best place to go as a newbie , then again you will have lots of knowledge there if they chose to share it with you . lol