Got my springer shooting well now!

Discussion in 'Piston & Spring' started by john0neuk, Dec 14, 2017.

1. john0neuk

john0neuk Well-Known Member

Club:
    Dartmoor Marksmen
    Just spent sometime fettling my Pro Sport.

Followed the trigger tutorial on line, (Which is excellent by the way) and also did the polishing the internals etc, thought I would give it a go prior to considering a tuning kit. It is shooting a really consistent 776 - 780.
    Then had a go setting it up at a local indoor range, See attached - bottom left and top right were zeroing bottom right a 5 shot group, also did 5 x 10 shot groups on another card - fine tuned zero and then thought - as things were going well I would try a couple of Bench rest shots. All the attached were at 25 yards and indoors off a front bench rest bag - so not anything special - but still pleased the gun is shooting really well post my fiddling. I am relatively new to springers and still learning re hold sensitivity and trigger technique etc - but think the gun in standard "blue printed" tune has potential - a good days work and very enjoyable.
    May even try a couple of full benchrest cards next - now there is a thought Springer benchrest comps!

Kr

Attached Files:

Last edited: Dec 14, 2017
    RobF and Neil180 like this.
  2. FPoole

FPoole Active Member

The trigger polish really works well at making a good trigger even better. I have 8 TX's and I've done this to 5 of them. The others just seemed too good to mess with. Guns that are accurate in standard trim, like your PS, only get better with a little TLC. I set all my triggers in the 3-4 oz. range since I prefer a really light trigger. I keep a fairly long first stage as sort of an extra margin of safety. Practice makes perfect or nearly perfect, with a spring gun, and I need to practice a lot more to get back to my old form.

3. hmangphilly

hmangphilly Can't Re Member

John do you have a link to the trigger fettling tutorial ?