FT zero distance

Discussion in 'Hunter (HFT) & Field Target (FT)' started by Phil Kennett, Aug 14, 2019.

  1. Phil Kennett

    Phil Kennett Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Essex
    Club:
    SARC - MAD
    So with HFT people choose varying zero distances based on what suits them or maybe where they have strengths/weaknesses, pellet trajectory etc.

    Obviously with FT things are a bit different. Do FT shooters tend to zero for mid-range to even out turret clicks in both directions or are there any favoured distances for any particular reasons

    Thanks
     
  2. shaun elliott

    shaun elliott Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Club:
    pontefract arc
    I zero my rifle up at 30 yard it seems to be the high point of my trajectory with the scope mounted 80mm above the barrel so any range changes I dial up on my turret and not down it works for me.
     
    wiseguy, Gary Martin, Martz and 3 others like this.
  3. Phil Kennett

    Phil Kennett Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Essex
    Club:
    SARC - MAD
    Thanks Shaun I hadn't thought of that, very helpful thanks
     
  4. RobF

    RobF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13,208
    Location:
    New Forest, Hampshire
    Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers
    FT shooters predominantly dial for the distance. So there's no choice on a 'zero', it's where ever the scope height and trajectory puts it. It's the same for HFT, you can't move it. But with HFT all you're doing is adjusting the holdover by setting a zero. With FT all you're doing is putting zero where you only have to dial in one direction. You can put it anywhere else but that means you have to dial in two directions.
     
    pbrown and NeilM like this.
  5. SteveC200

    SteveC200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Colchester
    Club:
    Iceni Marksmen
    If you dial then every range is a zero.
     
    Alanok2002, SamBro87 and RobF like this.
  6. mrgeoff

    mrgeoff Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Norwich / Peterborough
    Club:
    Broadlands / SOKE
    If you use mildot for FT rather than dialling, 40yds zero works.
     
  7. SteveC200

    SteveC200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Colchester
    Club:
    Iceni Marksmen
    Mag dependant. I use holdover/mildots, my Daystate is zerod to 35 yards with a 30x mag but has a pretty low scope. My 9015 uses 36x mag, a high scope and is zerod at 40 yards. Its a lot of faff to work through the variables to get a set up that works.
     
  8. Phil Kennett

    Phil Kennett Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Essex
    Club:
    SARC - MAD
    I guess it is, hadn't looked at it that way, thanks :)
     
  9. Phil Kennett

    Phil Kennett Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Essex
    Club:
    SARC - MAD
    Thanks Rob, obvious now it's pointed out, so in a nutshell, find top of trajectory and all distances fall into a one way click
     
    RobF likes this.
  10. Phil Kennett

    Phil Kennett Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Essex
    Club:
    SARC - MAD
    Thanks for the fedback
     
  11. Phil Kennett

    Phil Kennett Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Essex
    Club:
    SARC - MAD
    I will be dialing
     
  12. Pauly5

    Pauly5 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    NZ
    Club:
    Kuku FT club. NZ
    If your scope is mounted high, the zero can be further out. Am I right in thinking that if your scope is optically centred, in theory the ranging will be the best due to the glass being centred, and so you are giving yourself a better go at ranging at distance?
     
  13. dave croucher

    dave croucher FT, the sport where simple becomes complicated

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    dartford
    I do 25yd zero, cos i can get it in the garden easily
     
    NeilM likes this.
  14. Dale

    Dale Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Yes and no.

    I would look on 'zero' as being the datum point from which your dialling is relative to.
     
    Barry and sven like this.
  15. Phil Kennett

    Phil Kennett Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Essex
    Club:
    SARC - MAD
    Steve, if using holdover/mildots do you stay on a fixed Mag.
    If using variable Mag would it not change zero altering the Mag.

    Thanks
     
  16. SteveC200

    SteveC200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Colchester
    Club:
    Iceni Marksmen
    Yes, that's correct. I generally range and shoot on 30x but mag up to 50x if needed for ranging then back down to 30x for the shot.
     
    Phil Kennett likes this.
  17. Lofty

    Lofty Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Club:
    Iceni
    Again yes and no.
    If using a FFP (first focal plane ) scope then the aim points will remain the same when the mag is altered on a SFP (second focal plane ) scope the aim points will alter with the mag. So if using a SFP scope just set your aim points for the mag you shoot on
     
    nat likes this.
  18. Phil Kennett

    Phil Kennett Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Essex
    Club:
    SARC - MAD
    Thanks for clearing that up
     
  19. Mr C

    Mr C New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    If you have adjustable scope rings then you can set your 0 to what you want
     
  20. RobF

    RobF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13,208
    Location:
    New Forest, Hampshire
    Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers
    Only changing your pellets/speed and your scope height changes your trajectory, adjustables don't no matter how they're set. Even if you angle them completely different the top of your trajectory will still be were it was.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice