First PCP...

Discussion in 'General Airgun Chat' started by bfto_connor, Oct 5, 2010.

1. bfto_connor

bfto_connor New Member

Well I'm about to make my first PCP purchase, ive played with a few, read a ton of magazine and user reviews and have come to the conclusion that most guns are equally amazing whilst at the same time being absolute crud... :confused: lol there were so many conflicting bits of info all i could do was go with my gut feeling...
    Im limiting myself to around the £500- £700 range and the short list is as follows...

AA S510
    AA MPR
    HW 100S
    Daystate Huntsman
    Prestige Kub Thumbhole Side Bolt Action Multishot
    BSA ultra multishot for now and save a bit longer for an EV2?

At the moment im just starting out, but i dont think it will be too long before i would like to possibly try an open HFT/HT comp.
    ive held all but two and fired half of them but want to get a general idea which would best suit my purpose?
    The BSA i threw in there because i cant decide if its best to hold out and buy the best gun i can to save faffing later on or if i should buy an intermediate rifle (that will be more than enough for me now) but then have to take a loss on it when it comes to upgrading later on?

Theres probably been a million and one posts like this and i apologise in advance for that but i would really appreciate a bit more of an informed view.

Cheers!

Connor.
    :eek: :shot: :D

2. villiers

villiers Self appointed antipimp

Club:
    Bisley
    Hi if you are going to do comps you will want something single shot, from your list a very good starting place would be the AA mpr. It a simple gun which you will be able to do ft and hft and in time when you head in one direction more you drop the action into a after market stock better suited to what you want.:)

3. kilty

kilty Member

Club:
    SPRINGFIELD ARC
    Save up for a Steyr LG110 / LG110 which will cover both disciplines. About £850 should get you a good one?
    hth