EV2 advice

Discussion in 'Air Arms' started by freshman210, Sep 11, 2013.

1. freshman210

freshman210 Member

Club:
    Waddington
    Hi,

I am a novice shooter really, although i have been shooting 3 years now. I am looking to make a leap an buy an EV2. Could you give me some advice on what i should look for when purchasing to avoid problems/issue/pitfalls? Is there anything specific i should look out for?

Your help is as always very much appreciated.

Iain

2. Bernie

Bernie Love to Bracket

Club:
    GuiseleyFTC
    I'd get an add on here in the wanted section, and buy secondhand of a reputable person thats looked after one that has been run in, and had the trigger set up, or if your buy brand new, then have it set up by someone at a club that knows all about them. I had this choice a few years ago, and bought secondhand and glad i did.
    The only other advice i can give you is go for the EV2 MK3 as the MK4 has a shorter hamster post and ball joint, which can have problems, then again theres alot out there that have had them adapted. good luck

3. sven

sven Member

Club:
    FT Schalkhaar / SSV Ons Genoegen
    I second Bernie, go for an EV2 that has 2 hamster posts.

I did not manage to get the hamster of my MK4 with the single post and ball joint in a fixed position. It kept moving. In my adventures to get this fixed (I tried a few advices from the www: new shorter bolts, rubber bands from bicycle tire, loctite on the ball joint, aluminum foil, roughen the ball with sandpaper, squaring off the ball joint with a file) I only managed to damage the socket for the ball.
    I have now made a short piece of Delrin tubing (2" dia, like a very big and thick washer) that sits around the post between the hamster and the bottom of the stock. This fixes the moving, but sets the hamster to a fixed height.

4. freshman210

freshman210 Member

Club:
    Waddington
    Thanks you guys.

5. monty19

monty19 New Member