Decent chrono ?

Discussion in 'Hunter (HFT) & Field Target (FT)' started by 5teve L, May 29, 2011.

  1. 5teve L

    5teve L STOP ! HAMMER TIME !

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex.
    Club:
    The Oaks & Horsham hawks
    Can anyone reccomend a decent chrono, I have a combro but don't trust it anymore, it may just be the batteries but I can't risk it.
    I went to Wendover, had set the rifle @ 780fps on mine the eve before, had to turn it up to much IMO when I set it so borrowed Grigsys combro, went through 12.2, 12.03 so glad I did & turned it down to 780fps again, then went over the UK chrono @ 791fps which is way to close for me !
    I just don't want to adjust the rifle till I can find a chrono I can trust, I was looking at chrony's & the more expensive Skan, is the skan that much better ?

    Ta
    Steve
     
  2. Sparky

    Sparky Ich dien Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,628
    Location:
    Pontypool South Wales
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Hi Steve

    my favorite is the PM10 but can't get them now, but i always use my combro, why not send it back to get it checked over.

    Pete
     
  3. 5teve L

    5teve L STOP ! HAMMER TIME !

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex.
    Club:
    The Oaks & Horsham hawks
    Didn't think Robin (think thats his name) was doing them anymore Pete ?
    If I had 2 at least I could have a slim chance I'd be ok, like I say it may just need batteries but I can't risk it after whats going on with Darren. Not worth loosing my guns & FAC over anyway.
     
  4. Pete m

    Pete m New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Nuneaton
    Club:
    Greyhound
    One word Skan expensive but brilliant
     
  5. Sparky

    Sparky Ich dien Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,628
    Location:
    Pontypool South Wales
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Try new batteries and then compare to the UKAHFT PM at the next comp.

    Pete
     
  6. Scooby

    Scooby Pete Dutton

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,620
    Location:
    Rotherham
    That's what I have Steve, 2 x Combros, you just need to buy a good supply of batteries
     
  7. villiers

    villiers Self appointed antipimp

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Uxbridge UB8
    Club:
    Bisley
    Have my crombros plugged into a lap to and it runs now on 4xAA batteries and then adjusted it to match my Skan chrono shoot a string of shots and then check , don't have to reset it after each shot. Most chrono are pretty fussy which we are using out side, not inside a lab with men in white coats.
    Have a tube out of a bog roll pushed over the crombros to cut the light down:shot:
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice