BARREL TWIST RATES

Discussion in 'General Airgun Chat' started by blacklab, Dec 29, 2018.

1. blacklab

blacklab Active Member

Club:
    nelson
    A youtuber made a statement and he said that airgun barrel makers have got it all wrong except one what are everyone's thoughts

2. SteveC200

SteveC200 Active Member

Club:
    Iceni Marksmen
    A link to the video perhaps? Otherwise my thoughts are that this thread has just wasted my time. ;)

nemesis and dlloyduk like this.
  3. Jesim1

Jesim1 Active Member

Club:
    BOAC, BGC
    I'm no expert on this, but I can't help thinking that barrel makers are! Perhaps the guy you mention should stick to youtube? but also accept without questioning we don't improve.

James

4. AlexS

AlexS Active Member

Historical barrel twist rate development:
    - Can we use the same twist rate on the same machines we use for .22 l.r.?
    - Yes.
    - Are the barrels sufficient accurate?
    - Yes.
    - Stop development.

cloverleaf likes this.
  5. blacklab

blacklab Active Member

Club:
    nelson
    if against the rules can mods delete

6. simona

simona Active Member

That's a good film but I think he's focused on very high power/long range performance. I'm not sure whether pellets shot at 11 foot pounds are significantly overstabilized at 55 yards.

Lavant_Lad and garym like this.
  7. Nomads HFT

Nomads HFT Well-Known Member

A friend compared a 1:17.7" LW barrel with a 1:39.4" polygonal barrel, and found the 1;17.7" grouped better to about 50 yards, but the 1:39.4" grouped better beyond. The pellets with the slower twist rates were better able to nose into the direction of their travel at longer range than the more spin stabilised 1:17.7"

Last edited: Dec 29, 2018
  8. Paul_T

Paul_T Active Member

I thought the same. Also looks to be promoting the FX smooth twist concept.

9. Ballisticboy

Ballisticboy Active Member