Barrel cleaning on a springer

Discussion in 'Piston & Spring' started by Kevg, Jul 27, 2017.

1. Kevg

Kevg Warning: May post in random areas

Club:
    Misfits
    Good evening. I have a TX200 and I'm fairly new to springer shooting so have a couple of questions
    Can springer barrels be just as fussy as some pcp barrels? For example some steyrs have to be cleaned after every comp.
    When cleaning a springer barrel is it safe to just rely on the anti bear trap or is it advisable to put a cushion in between the barrel and underlever?
    Thanks
    Kev

2. steve1000

steve1000 Active Member

Club:
    Wendover, North Oxon
    Hi make a breech block to prevent it trapping your fingers, Hunters Vermin on youtube shows how . Hope this helps

Steve

3. Adam

Adam Well-Known Member

Club:
    Redfearns & the UBC
    I've cleaned my HWs (no anti beartrap) and I've still got all my digits. The thing is it's only dangerous when your appendages are in harm's way, so take precautions at that point. If it's impractical to hold the lever at the point of putting the patch in the pull through, (it certainly is when screwing the felt onto the end of the VFG rod), then something to block the lever or the cylinder would be helpful. Best is a block of wood the right size to sit inside the cylinder, while allowing you access to the barrel.

4. Kevg

Club:
    Misfits
    Thank you, never even occurred to me about making a breech block :)

5. RobF

RobF Administrator Staff Member

Club:
    Parkstone Gun Club, South Dorset FTC, Southampton Buccaneers
    Never had a barrel fussy on a springer. Had some better than others but not fussy or needing a clean. Normally when they're running good they're running good.

6. Adam

Adam Well-Known Member

Club:
    Redfearns & the UBC
    Yes I only really do it when the rifle is brand new, or when its not been shot for a long time (years), or if having accuracy problems and want to rule out a variable.

7. Kevg

Club:
    Misfits