Air gun Air Filling

Discussion in 'Tips, tricks and tutorials' started by SHOOTER, Aug 1, 2010.

1. SHOOTER

SHOOTER New Member

What Equipment do you use to fill your PCP with air?? How many charges can you get from an 80 cuft scuba tank (before it needs refilling) for a Rapid MFR, the small bottle. Where is the best place to buy the charging equipment for the process? I'm in the USA.

2. Adam

Adam Active Member

Club:
    Redfearns & the UBC
    80 cubic feet?? By my calcs that is 2265 litres!

I can't help you with where to buy, but you need a dive tank with gauge, and a hose with the relevant adaptor(s) for your gun. If you take the cylinder off the gun to fill then you can often get an adaptor that screws into the dive tank and you screw the bottle directly to that. I've no experience with Theoben PCPs so can't advise further.

Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  3. Adam

Adam Active Member

Club:
    Redfearns & the UBC
    If you post the actual volume of the scuba tank (I don't believe it's 80 cuft!) and its max fill pressure, and the volume of the MFR bottle and its max and min pressure I'll calculate the number of refills you can get.

4. SHOOTER

SHOOTER New Member

Air Airgun Air Filling

80 cubic Feet IS correct for the size tank. It is a standard dive tank (aluminium ). It actually holds 77 cubic feet of air at 3000 lbs pressure.

5. big_phil555

big_phil555 New Member

hi mate - that tank is enormous compared with the ones we use - usually up to 12 litre and 300 bar

I normally get 60 fills out of my tank when filling my pcp's, so you should get several hundred fills

6. Adam

Adam Active Member

Club:
    Redfearns & the UBC