Advice regarding front rest needed.

Discussion in 'Benchrest' started by Mark S, Oct 25, 2019.

1. Mark S

Mark S New Member

I'm just getting into BR a little more seriously and need some ideas regarding a front rest. I was looking at the Rock BR from Caldwell as a few folk use these at my club. Can anyone suggest other brands around the same price or are these pretty much the best you'll get at the price point before you start hitting the high £££?

Thanks.

2. jalfa

jalfa New Member

cicognani rcx, SEB Mini or SEB Neo all with joysticks for serious BR, but they are expensive compared to Caldwell

3. thebaron

thebaron Member

Club:
    Leics & District (Dowry Hill)
    Cicognani make a very nice rest which is similar to the Caldwell Rock but much better engineered.
    Windage, adjustable jaw width and coarse/medium/fine height adjustment plus 2 speed screw are available. Price is more than twice that of the Caldwell, but you get what you pay for.
    6 or 7 of us use this rest at our club. Navigation round the target is fast and unlike some of the joystick rests, it can cover all 25 diagrams on the UKBR22 target plus sighters at 25yd/metres without having to move the rear bag.
    Sinclair rests are also worth looking at. I used to have a lightweight Sinclair that was well made but lacked windage adjustment
    The Caldwell does the job though and is value for money.

4. Mark S

Mark S New Member

Yeah I've seen the price tags of the Cigs, Sebs et all. I'm guessing the Rock BR will have to do for now?

5. perlin

perlin New Member

Club:
    Thorn Dell , Darlinton R.A, Pontefract
    Have a look at the Optics Warehouse website, they have a Smart Reloader SR300 for around £60 or take a look at their Protektor range.
    John

6. Graham freeman

Graham freeman Member

hi take a look at Benchrest UK we hold 12 - 14 comps all round the uk and on the webpage there is info on Benchrest equipment