Advice on the Hawke Sidewinder tac 30 4.5-14 x 42

Discussion in 'Hunter (HFT) & Field Target (FT)' started by CharlieFarlie, Jan 5, 2012.

1. CharlieFarlie

CharlieFarlie Member

Club:
    Member of Worcester Air Rifles and Glenrothes Target shooting club.
    Guys I have checked out in the flesh theHawke Sidewinder tac 30 4.5-14 x 42. But before buying I'm checking here that this is a good scope with the correct Mag range and correct objective lens size.
    I have an SR6 but am finding the scope to be a little dark.. I have read reviews on the above scope and it seems to be a brighter and better scope in clarity and brightness .. But being a Novice I wont buy before seeking good advice.. I may also want to use the scope for occasional hunting so could use opinions on that as well.
    Thank You.

Charlie.

2. scutter

scutter Aspiring to mediocrity

Club:
    MEMBER OF M.A.D
    Hello Charlie,

I use the fixed 10 verstion of this scope and I have been realy happy with it for the last 2 years, it has helped me win a few comps and I did well with it last year in the nationals.

From a light gathering point of view it is every bit as good as its rivals and to be honest, much better then most. I reviewed the 10x42 tac 30 for Airgunner last year and if you send me your email, i will more then happily send you a rough copy of the article.

I personaly love the Tac 30 range and I will continue to shoot with one this year.

Gary

3. chrisc

chrisc Lucky git

Hi Charlie, I'm assuming you're talking about doing HFT with maybe a bit of hunting? If so then that scope is a decent compromise.

You're joking right???. Is that the same article where you described the scope as parallax free? Don't get me wrong Gary you've proved that with a lot of practice and learning your kit huge improvements can be made, no-one can take that away from you. I don't really thinks it's fair to send a newbie an article that was totally reamed by the HFT circuit.

4. scutter

Club: