A warning to fellow SWEFTA members

Discussion in 'Hunter (HFT) & Field Target (FT)' started by Gibbs, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. Gibbs

    Gibbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    North Cornwall
    After an excellent league 1 shoot at East Devon on Sunday, I feel I must just issue a cautionary warning to my fellow SWEFTA members.
    There have been some rule changes over the winter and I would just like to enlighten you as to how rigorously they are now being enforced.

    On Sunday I shot the course and enjoyed every minute of it (including my hitting 33/40 equal top score & top AA score)
    I checked my score card every few lanes and finally at the end of the shoot, saw my shooting partner correctly add up my score, write it on my card and sign it. I also saw him hand it in.
    All good! I was handed the winning card for 1st in AA and I went home very pleased.

    However.....

    I did not pay enough attention!
    What I had missed was the last cross, in the last box!
    And so, although I'm now looking at a SWEFTA card which shows me winning the first 2011 SWEFTA league shoot,
    I didn't win.
    I didn't win because my score card was not correctly filled in and I did not ensure that it was! :(
    Lesson learned.
    Lesson painfully learned.
     
  2. NJR 100

    NJR 100 Because I`m AWESIME !!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,577
    Location:
    Skewen
    Club:
    Avon Hawks, Tondu, Oaktree
    You lost me, did you hit 33, 32 or 34?
     
  3. Gibbs

    Gibbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    North Cornwall
    Hi Simon,
    I hit 33 ex 40 which was the highest AA score of the day.
    But my shooting partner left the last box empty, even though he recorded my score correctly as 33, he only wrote 32 X's on my card (and 7 zero's and a blank space where an X should be in box 40)
    So my score has been officially recorded as 32 ex 40 and more importantly to me, 2nd place, not 1st.

    I can't say I'm very pleased about this, it's only my 4th competition win.
    (Actually, it's officially NOT a win! So it's NOT my 4th comp win)

    Not happy:mad:

    Alec Gibbs.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2011
  4. Mr P

    Mr P Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,028
    Location:
    Sunny Ilkeston
    Club:
    Castle
    Surely if your shooting partner sighned your card your score must stand HE is the marshall not you for example if YOU mark your own card it does not count pretty sraight forward upto now the rules clearly state the marshalls decission is final the guy who marked your card IS the marshall it is that simple.
     
  5. rich

    rich Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,679
    Location:
    Shebbear, N Devon
    Scores and grading in SWEFTA is my job this year, as it was last year. It's not an easy one either.

    Alec is in a very unfortunate position. I wouldn't have commented here but as he has brought it to the public domain it's appropriate in my view that this extract of the rules should be stated; the full rules are on the SWEFTA website.

    "It is compulsory to hand in scorecards, regardless of whether the full course of fire has been
    completed or not. The only exceptions to this are if for medical reasons, the competitor is no
    longer able to continue. Or if, due to mechanical breakdown it is not longer possible for a
    competitor s rifle to be discharged. Shooters not handing in their cards will be credited with 1
    hit.

    Cards when handed in must be marked in ink, not pencil. Any mistakes, such as marking the
    wrong target or the wrong card, shall be corrected in such a way that the original mistake is
    still clear to be seen, but leaving no doubt as to the correct marking. Alterations should be
    witnessed by a third party signing adjacent to the correction.

    Defaced cards, or cards that prevent proper audit of corrections will be treated as not handed
    in and credited with 1 hit. "


    We brought this in at the 2010 AGM with 100% support and no abstentions as we had seen a number of instances where cards had been altered, scores even rubbed out and changed, with no way of auditing what was the real score. Frankly the old system was open to abuse. When you have a card - not one of Alec's - where eight resuts have been changed from a miss to a hit, and never one changed from a hit to a miss, you begin to have thoughts that all is not well. The third party witness was brought in to guard against the risk of collusion between shooters.

    On Sunday, in Alec's case, neither he nor his buddy marked target 40 on Alec's card. So the card has 32 Xs on it, seven Os, and a blank. Sadly the blank wasn't spotted either by Alec or his buddy, nor by the stats office.

    Another shooter put in a card with 31 Xs on it, nine Os, the buddy added it up to 32 and put 32 in the final score box. That was a mistake. Do I let that stand? Is the buddy the final arbiter? No, I have to correct it.

    I'm not going to get into a public debate on this as that won't solve anything. However I wanted the relevant aspect of the rules to be made widely known.

    There is absolutely no hint or suggestion that Alec or his buddy were behaving inappropriately and I know him to be a chap of integrity and total honesty.

    The message for all of us is to make sure that we are satisfied our cards are correct before they are handed in.
     
  6. NJR 100

    NJR 100 Because I`m AWESIME !!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,577
    Location:
    Skewen
    Club:
    Avon Hawks, Tondu, Oaktree
    Indeed, at all events.

    Alec is unlucky, but there is more cance of me clearing Mendips than him doing the same thing again.

    As a new swefta shooter, i came home and printed all the rules off and am now busy trying to remember the differences. particually as i fancy a bash at Hft Swefta style too.
     
  7. Mr P

    Mr P Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,028
    Location:
    Sunny Ilkeston
    Club:
    Castle
    Hi Rich i understand what you are saying and why you have done it, but it does not say anything in your rules about Alecs little problem unless he is deemed not to have completed the course and this falls into one of the other rulings,the real problem is we are human and make mistakes as for the third party bit surely this cannot count unless the third party actualy witnessed the shot i suppose if you are cheif marshall your decission quite rightly stands.

    steve
     
  8. rich

    rich Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,679
    Location:
    Shebbear, N Devon
    I said earlier it's not an easy job and this has been a hard call I can tell you.

    Short digression:

    Simon the SWEFTA version of HFT has its own set of rules which from a shooter's perspective aren't too hard to grasp, they are just different from UKAHFT and the de facto norm.

    Sitting is allowed, prone is not enforced, you can adjust your scope prior to each target and prior to raising the scope to your eye. This means you can always have the option of a reasonably in-focus target and if you are judicious about the plane of focus that you set according to your mark 1 eyeball range estimation, you can also see how far out your guess was. You can use up to 12x mag.

    Part of your body must touch the peg or post. Targets are normally in shared lanes, i.e., more than one per peg.

    Those I think are the major distinguishing features.

    Mr P if one has marked the wrong card or the targets in the wrong order then hopefully the strings have not been reset and the third party could witness that. It may not always be so, I grant you.
     
  9. Rod

    Rod New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Portland, Dorset
    And targets out to 55yds.

    Rod
     
  10. Knockedover

    Knockedover CSFTA Champ

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Nr Portsmouth,Hampshire
    Appears to be the same rules as SFT as shot at the GPs, etc, other than the touching the peg bit :)
     
  11. chrispro97

    chrispro97 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    atherstone
    Club:
    purley chase ftc
    yes matey trigger must not pass shooting line,i think their is a foot rule should not pass over the shooting line,i might stand corrected on that 1 tho
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice