7.9gr vs 8.4gr trajectory?

Discussion in 'Hunter (HFT) & Field Target (FT)' started by nyamazan, May 8, 2019.

1. nyamazan

nyamazan New Member

I’m looking for a flatter trajectory for HFT.

Had a go with AA express but only had around 30 pellets I’d got from someone at the club, bit of a windy day so not perfect conditions. I saw probably less than a quarter of a dot at 45.

Can anyone look on chairgun or a similar program (I’m not too tech savvy) to see if that’s about what’s expected? I’m shooting a TX with a 27 yard zero at around 780 FPS.

Many thanks.

Rod.

2. C.Eaton

C.Eaton Confirmed Anschutz Nut...

Club:
    Springfield / TEGC
    Other factors like scope height play a factor but looking on CG you'll see a drop of about 1.5 mil-dots out to 45yds from a 27yd zero.
    Comparing with an 8.4 it is indeed about a quarter mil difference if that.

3. nyamazan

nyamazan New Member

Thank you for that.

I’m a dot down at 45, so 3/4 with the lighter pellets....around 10mm less.

May help with my poor ranging skills, I’ll give them a go.

4. Jesim1

Jesim1 Active Member

Club:
    BOAC, BGC
    AA express, JSB RS and Falcon AP will all be worth a go to see which suits your rifle, my experience is they all perform well with the AA probably being the more widely accepted by guns I've tried and they are all light pellets.

RAMBO and nyamazan like this.
  5. chrisc

chrisc Lucky git

Club:
    Emley Moor
    I used the 7.9gr for a couple of years when they were mosquito's but had a cluster of horrendous scores in twitchy winds so went back to 8.44's. That was in a PCP but i understand that the 7.9gr do work well in boingers. Ian Taylor shot them for a while but soon went back to 8.44s however, Neil Hague shoots well in FT with them so go figure. They are both shooting PCP's though.