30mm scope mount height

Discussion in 'General Airgun Chat' started by pete53, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. pete53

    pete53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Westbury, Wiltshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    I have 30mm medium Hawke mounts but have had to shim them to clear the magazine on a S510. I need a set of mounts with distance A being 16mm (Hawke is 14mm & sportsmatch is 15mm)
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  2. peadar_911

    peadar_911 Too old to die young.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Hi Pete

    I have a set off a Viper, that I swapped for high mounts for the same reason.

    For sale, if you're interested. £15 posted.

    Cheers

    Peter

    SNC00066.jpg
     
  3. JAGXKRS

    JAGXKRS Sparky's Bodyguard

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Lyneham
    Pete, Daystate used to recommend medium BKL's to clear the mags on there guns;) Not sure if this works for other makes though??
     
  4. pete53

    pete53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Westbury, Wiltshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Thanks Pete but they seem to be 14mm I need at least 16mm I may have to go to high mounts
     
  5. pete53

    pete53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Westbury, Wiltshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Thanks Chris I'll take a look
     
  6. 5teve L

    5teve L STOP ! HAMMER TIME !

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex.
    Club:
    The Oaks & Horsham hawks
    I had the 30mm MTC ones on my old S410 & they cleared ok, they came on my mamba, pretty sure they are over 16mm... I'm sure the 16mm won't clear the mag though, but could be wrong, I have a set of MTC mounts I can send you to try if you like ?

    Steve
     
  7. pete53

    pete53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Westbury, Wiltshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Steve
    I just measured the rail to the top of mag its12.5mm but the bottom of the scope where the knobs are adds 2.5mm, I can't move the scope back enough as the mounts hit the objective lens housing. It looks like it might be high mounts or single screw 30mm mounts if there's such a thing.
    Pete
     
  8. relivingmyyouth

    relivingmyyouth New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    South Wilts
    Pete,
    I may be missing something here but why not use High Mounts?
     
  9. 5teve L

    5teve L STOP ! HAMMER TIME !

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex.
    Club:
    The Oaks & Horsham hawks
    Like I say, I used the MTC mounts on my old S410, you are welcome to try the ones I have to see if they are what you need, PM me your address & I'll post them out to you.

    Pretty sure the MTC are 21mm if that helps
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2010
  10. pete53

    pete53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Westbury, Wiltshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    I have a low cheekpiece as it it and I want the scope as low as possible
     
  11. pete53

    pete53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Westbury, Wiltshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Thanks Steve but I was trying to avoid going that high
    I think I'll stick with shims for now thanks everyone
     
  12. pete53

    pete53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Westbury, Wiltshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Just found one J S Ramsbottom do a accushot 30mm mount dimension A 17mm :)
     
  13. JAGXKRS

    JAGXKRS Sparky's Bodyguard

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Lyneham
    Pete, bin the AirArms and buy the bloody MK4:D:D:D
     
  14. pete53

    pete53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Westbury, Wiltshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Don't have to Chris I will be winning one at Shepreth :D
     
  15. peadar_911

    peadar_911 Too old to die young.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    I think you haven't read the caliper correctly, the measurement is from the zero, not the jaw! 16mm!;)

    Just had a look at the Accushot ones, they look identical to the ones off my Viper.

    If you want, I'll send them up to you to try. If they're suitable, settle with me at LV, if not I'll have them back at LV.

    Cheers

    Peter
     
  16. pete53

    pete53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Westbury, Wiltshire
    Club:
    Quarry Hunters
    Thanks for the offer already ordered
     
  17. JAGXKRS

    JAGXKRS Sparky's Bodyguard

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Lyneham
    Fixed it for yer:D:D:D
     
  18. 5teve L

    5teve L STOP ! HAMMER TIME !

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex.
    Club:
    The Oaks & Horsham hawks
    Pete, being as low as poss to the barrel isn't always the best way mate, I use the same mounts on my MPR & I tried the lower sportsmatch ones, couldn't get on with them mate so am back with the med mounts supplied with my Mamba from MTC.
    It's what you get used to & what zero you use, theres loads of things that change the trajectory, diff pellets, speed, weight, barrel to scope height, even the way you eye the scope can change POI....

    Steve
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice